h1

Method Feeders are not just for small fish!

November 22, 2012

As I posted in my last article, I’ve been having fun this summer targeting other species than carp. Or to put it another way fishing for whatever comes along. This has been specimen fishing but doesn’t seek to exclude fish other than carp. And as you’ll see along the way I’ve caught my share of nice carp too.

I’m fortunate that the lakes hold some cracking fish of many sorts, tench, bream, crucians & rudd as well as our favourite quarry.

In the last few months I’ve found a really excellent and most deadly technique: the Method feeder! The ones I’ve been using are the new(’ish) Drennan Method feeders.

These Method feeders are really an item originally designed with the match angler in mind. They have proved very successful on commercial carp fisheries.
If they have been so effective here, it is certainly because they offer a tight cluster of bait right by your hook bait and do a great job of concealing the hooklink. More often than not I use a small pop up, which once it breaks free from the ground bait wafts in a tantalizing manner just next to the feeder. So far this year, for most species in my lakes it has proved deadly.

But it is not just a small fish technique!

Yes you will catch other fish… but personally I don’t mind that. Rather than sitting behind motionless rods for days on end, I prefer just a few hours of action, knowing that a nice carp is not far behind the other fish. So far in the last two months I’ve hooked at least one carp every outing. This, during periods of the day when the other anglers in the lakes have rarely caught any fish.

My technique has been very simple and uses basic observation and experience of the lakes, to decide on which peg to try.
Baitwise, its equally simple: I use a mixture of carp pellets, wetted down, Method mix and various other goodies.. sweet corn, hemp etc to make a nice sticky method mix that oozes attraction as soon as it hits the lake bed.
I couple this with a small 15mm pop up (usually chopped down a bit) on a short 4 inch hooklink. Once in position the trap is pretty deadly. I might feed some loose baits over the top, but once a fish homes in on the feeder he is faced with a bright wafting pop up sitting pretty!! The takes are usually pretty fast even from the bream.

I also like to use the quiver tip rods as they indicate any fishy presence around the feeder with a tremor or tap and this is what I’m looking for. The takes though, due to the bolt effect of the rig are full blown runs, even from a tench or crucian carp.
If my initial casts, and I recast every 10-15 mins, get the rudd and tench interested I know that the carp, being the curious creatures they are won’t be far behind. If after a couple of hours I’ve no fish or no sign of feeding fish, I move to a new peg.

In my last three or four mini sessions of 2-4 hours I’ve had 7 carp between 17lb and 33lb 8oz.

I’ve also had Tench to 7lb 12oz, Crucians to 7lb 8oz and Bream to 9lb 14oz.

Many spurn these fish, which I think is a shame… I’ve been a carp angler for 34 years, and an angler since I was 7 years old. I just love to catch fish, but there are times when pure out and out carping has too many draw backs, be it time, the amount of gear needed etc.

I’ve found myself “going through the motions” but not really fishing. Yes I’ve caught fish that way, but somewhere along the line I lost the satisfaction that I’ve rediscovered this year, by catching carp, just as big, on light gear during short sessions.

Tight Lines

Gareth

Leave a Reply

