h1

River Rodpod

January 9, 2013

SEMC 3MP DSCI’ve been looking for an adequate rod support system for rivers for a while now.  I’ve been using long bank sticks most of the time during 2012, but they have their draw backs.
Rods need to be fairly high on rivers to keep the maximum of line out of the water. Long bank sticks work just fine, as long as you can plant them firmly in the bank. However if the bank is too soft you often have to sink them so far you lose all adjustment, or they remain wobbly.
In harder banks you simply can’t plant them far enough to get a decent hold. I had one swim on a sandy bend on the Marne this year that, even when the bank sticks were planted 30-40cms into the sand, they still wobbled and fell over on a fast take from a fish.SEMC 3MP DSC

I started then to look at rodpods… Carp rod pods are great on flat hard ground. But as soon as you need to raise the rod tips things get complicated.
I’ve seen several posts on forums praising the Fox Horizon pod for river fishing, but while I love it on lakes the moment you raise the rods high it becomes really wobbly, due mainly to its small plastic fittings. Other cheap river pods had fairly mixed reviews.
Then I saw the Gardner Scud pod. While the pod itself is of less interest to me, the “Scud” block grabbed my attention.  I already have all sorts of bank sticks, storm poles and buzz bars, so making a tripod pod was not going to be an issue.
SEMC 3MP DSCWith the Gardner Scud block I added a long Nash Pozi-drive pole at the rear, and two shorter sticks at the front. These formed the basis for my river pod. I added a couple of buzz bars and Voilà a river pod.

For the rear rest I found a Preston keepnet adapter that fitted nicely onto the long arm of the tripod.

I’ve now a very functional, all terrain river pod that cost £15 for the Scud block.

Leave a Reply

